myspokenheart

musings on life, love and laughter from my spoken heart to yours

Day 76 – Lazy Daisy Sunday…

Leave a comment

Today has been a quiet and rather enjoyable day. I had a lazy daisy day. But the more I think about it not really even though it feels like it. See I stayed in my pj’s for most of the day. I slept in until 10:00 – crazy man. I puttered about. Yet I got 3 loads of laundry washed dried and folded/put away. Did the DW loaded, run and unloaded and reloaded. I hand washed the other dishes, swept and cleaned the upstairs bathroom… gross. And I made a nice dinner – a Spanish peasant dish that I do not know the name for.

Maybe it feels lazy because the girls were gone for a good chunk of the day with their dad? Or maybe it’s just because I did everything at my own leisurely pace? Either way it was a good day.

The following recipe is a very simple dish I was taught to make by a friend whose family had Spanish (Catalan) roots:

Spanish Peasant Dish (this should make enough for  2-4 adults depending on how hungry you are and what you serve with it)

3 thick cut boneless pork chops cut into 1/2″ cubes (I like centre loin)
5-6 small potatoes cut into 1/2″ cubes (red or white are best)
5-6 large garlic cloves sliced in half lengthways
1 large onion cut chunky (I like white or red onion)
1-2 peppers cut into large chunks (I use red, yellow or orange)
8 good sized mushrooms quartered
up to 1/4 cup nice oil – avocado or olive oil are good
salt and pepper to taste and some parsley or cilantro

Pre-cut all your ingredients before starting. Preheat oven to 300, and have a medium sized casserole or roaster set aside to put things in as they cook. Get 2 frying pans heated up on medium to med/high heat with 1-2 Tbs of oil in each. One pan should be large the other can be smaller. In the large pan grind about 1/2 tsp pepper and add about a tsp of salt or seasoned salt, toss in the potatoes. These will take a while to cook, they do not need constant attention, but do turn them often enough to keep them from getting too brown. In the other pan first add garlic and onion, let them get soft and just starting to caramelize, season with a bit of salt and pepper and transfer to your casserole dish and keep warm in the oven. Next put your meat into the frying pan, again season with salt and pepper, add more oil if necessary. Cook the meat cubes until they are nicely browned and transfer to the casserole stir together with the garlic and onion. repeat for the peppers and the mushrooms. Remember to keep an eye on your potatoes. Once potatoes are done add them to the casserole dish, at this point add some chopped fresh or dried parsley or cilantro, if you aren’t ready to eat put back into oven and keep warm.

This dish is nice served with a baguette and a strong garlic aoli, and maybe a simple mixed greens salad. Also consider some crumbled feta cheese and olives on the side. It would pair nicely with either red or white wine.  YUM!

 

Author: myspokenheart

Blogger, life lover, silly-hearted daydreamer...

Talk to me...

