myspokenheart

musings on life, love and laughter from my spoken heart to yours

Words crash…

11 Comments

Some days are hard. Sometimes we say and do things that we don’t mean in the heat of the moment. We hurt those we love even though we don’t mean to. Sometimes we don’t even realize we did, until it’s too late.

WORDS CRASH

Words crash…
…down on me
they hit so much harder
…than a fist
cut deeper
…than any sword

I am left
shattered
in a thousand
tiny pieces
. . . s c a t t e r e d
across the tile floor

My brain
… why won’t it stop
rewind – repeat
I hear
those bitter words
over and over

Like the ocean tide
…they wash over me
Underwater
Down here it’s cold
The weight
…is heavy

My heart
…it pounds fast
like a bird in my chest
it may explode…
…the stupid tears
won’t come
my eyes burn…

Why can’t I be good enough for you?

Author: myspokenheart

Blogger, life lover, silly-hearted daydreamer...

11 thoughts on “Words crash…

  1. Raw and emotive – enjoyed this – thank you for writing and sharing.

    Like

  2. oh … this was both … dark .. yet beautiful in its own way … please tell me this is in the past though.

    If I focus on just the poem … not just the words … but even the way your placed them … the way you wrote “s c a t t e r e d” … it all helps convey.

    You are a wonderful writer … whenever I read your post I feel … *smiles* … I feel like I learn from you.

    Like

  3. Sometimes people hurt us because we won’t stoop to their level. It’s easier to throw stones at a bird than deal with the pain of knowing we’ll never fly as free as that.
    Keep flying – ignore the words, they are only clouds to pass through. XX

    Like

  4. Beautiful words of such depth and truth..

    Like

  5. Words are dull knives that cut deeply and can not be pulled out of the wound. I hope they were in the distant past and the hurt has healed. *hugs* 🙂

    Like

  6. I love this piece. Powerful and relatable and beautiful and tragic. So much more.

    Like

Talk to me...

