myspokenheart

musings on life, love and laughter from my spoken heart to yours

What is Love?

28 Comments

Love, hhmmm let me write about love. What is there to say? So, so much… where does one begin? What is love? I mean really what is it anyway? We can class it into various forms too. There is romantic love, platonic love, family love… they all have a few things in common. First they are all about having a bond with some-one (sex, friendship or blood). And they all revolve around an emotional connection built on trust.

a group of 4 & 5 yr olds were asked what is love? this was one of the answers...

a group of 4 & 5 yr olds were asked what is love? this was one of the answers…

Some people have boiled it down to a simple release of chemicals in the brain. I say no way to that, it is so much more. Perhaps lust or attraction is a chemical release, but love is more than feeling giddy and a roll in the hay (that may very well be a part of it however).

No! Love is like oxygen!… Love is a many splendored thing. Love lifts us up where we belong. All you need is love!  ~ Moulin Rouge

Some say love is a feeling. I believe Love is so much more than just a feeling actually. It is not a noun but a verb. It is something we do. We can show love in our lives, in the way we interact with people. It is about sacrifice. It is about being able to be raw, to be our true selves with some-one. It is about feeling safe. It is about trust.

The greatest thing you’ll ever learn is just to love and be loved in return. ~ Moulin Rouge

I believe that love cannot exist without trust. If we do not trust the person we are with, how can we love them? How can we be ourselves? How can we let our guard down and be vulnerable? Aaahhh yes vulnerability. Love is about being vulnerable. When some-one takes advantage of our love and breaks the bond of trust, how do we carry on in that relationship? Or maybe it is better to ask how can that relationship be what it was? Some people have managed to restore broken love, some allow it to turn to hate.

Love is to be vulnerable...

Love is to be vulnerable…

And what is hate? Well just like with love there are many definitions for hate. But I tend to believe that hate is just wounded love. (There is another entity that is often labeled as hate, a vile evil thing that lives in some hearts, which I believe needs a different defining word – loathing maybe? But I will not get into that right now, maybe another time). Hate, loves counterpart, rears its head when some-one we love wounds us, abandons us, or says/does something that breaks our faith and hope.

Love, it’s a funny thing. We can’t control it, everyone desires it. We cannot survive without it. It tends to come when we least expect it. And it joins us, every single person on this planet, together in one way or another.

Ellie Goulding – Your Song cover

It’s a little bit funny, this feeling inside
I’m not one of those who can easily hide
I don’t have much money, but boy if I did
I’d buy a big house where we both could live

So excuse me forgetting, but these things I do
See I’ve forgotten if they’re green or they’re blue
Anyway the thing is what I really mean
Yours are the sweetest eyes I’ve ever seen

And you can tell everybody this is your song
It may be quite simple, but now that it’s done
I hope you don’t mind, I hope you don’t mind that I put down in words
How wonderful life is now you’re in the world

If I was a sculptor, but then again no
Or a girl who makes potions in a traveling show
I know it’s not much, but it’s the best I can do
My gift is my song, and this one’s for you

And you can tell everybody this is your song
It may be quite simple, but now that it’s done
I hope you don’t mind, I hope you don’t mind that I put down in words
How wonderful life is now you’re in the world

Author: myspokenheart

Blogger, life lover, silly-hearted daydreamer...

28 thoughts on “What is Love?

  1. It seems everyone has something to say about love: I love it! Love-ly post love-ly you 😉

    Like

  2. ❤ (It's safer than saying l – o – v – e word).
    Throughout the entirety of reading this, I was singing Haddaway's What is Love.

    Like

  3. A lovely post on love – with quotes from the most perfect movie about love ever made. I watch Moulin Rouge whenever I need to remember the beautiful side of love.

    Like

  4. Perhaps love is like a resting place
    A shelter from the storm
    It exists to give you comfort
    It is there to keep you warm
    And in those times of trouble
    When you are most alone
    The memory of love will bring you home

    Perhaps love is like a window
    Perhaps an open door
    It invites you to come closer
    It wants to show you more
    And even if you lose yourself
    And don’t know what to do
    The memory of love will see you through

    Oh, Love to some is like a cloud
    To some as strong as steel

    For some a way of living
    For some a way to feel

    And some say love is holding on
    And some say letting go
    And some say love is everything
    And some say they don’t know

    Perhaps love is like the ocean
    Full of conflict, full of pain
    Like a fire when it’s cold outside
    Thunder when it rains
    If I should live forever
    And all my dreams come true
    My memories of love will be on you

    And some say love is holding on
    And some say letting go

    And some say love is everything
    Some say they don’t know

    Perhaps love is like the Ocean
    Full of conflict, full of painThank you
    Like a fire when it’s cold outside
    Or thunder when it rains
    If I should live forever
    And all my dreams come true
    My memories of love will be on you

    Perhaps this song of John denver “Perhaps Love” describe,define, LOVE in a lot of ways.. hope you like it too 🙂 great work, very nice post

    Like

  5. It took me forever to say “I love you” to Nook…in our family we don’t say it much, but a few years ago I started to say it more and more and started a new wave of “I love you’s” in the family. With Nook, it was just stuck in my throat….and I was afraid, after so many years of you know what, Anyway…I loved your post. That song always reminds me of “Love” all kinds.

    Like

    • “I love you” are the three most over used words, and yet when they truly count they can be be the three hardest words to say… I think it is because we are too worried about “what if…” in a platonic setting what if they take it wrong? In a romantic setting what if they don’t feel the same?

      Like

  6. That Katie does love her maths doesn’t she 😉
    Love is? Friendship on fire?
    Most of all I agree, love is action, not feeling or words. Many say ‘I love you’, just before banging their secretary. Many care for you, but not as much as themselves. Love must act, it must manifest daily to be anything meaningful.
    May your life be full of it 🙂

    Like

  7. Love can be a glorious thing, and it can be a heart ache too.. It is all how you wish to take it or give it.

    Very excellent blog.. *smiling*

    Like

  8. Well said and articulated as always. And yes, Katie is very much worth loving. I, glad you two have found such friendship…

    Like

  9. Once again … I am listening to the music as I write. She is so young…but she has a lovely voice. I am sitting here typing and sunlight is coming through the window (it is about 4pm) … and it goes well with the song *smiles*

    As to your blog post and question … what is love? It is many things as you say nod nods. One … is friendship.

    Love = Friendship = You = Me = 🙂

    Like

Talk to me...

