myspokenheart

musings on life, love and laughter from my spoken heart to yours

Blue Monday…

10 Comments

Woo-hoo today is Monday! And I find myself wading knee deep through day 5 of a deep blue funk. Generally I bounce back quickly and can say that I have blue moments, maybe even a blue day here or there. But this is something more. Something I cannot quite put my finger on. I think it’s an accumulation of stress triggers, added to the previously mentioned conversation with a close friend about her creative side just ‘poof’ disappearing, (read – It’s time for Change), and voila, I have found myself face down in a deep blue funk puddle.

It’s murky, and blah… and cold… I feel withdrawn and have neglected contact with people, especially new friends – I do not wish to overlook them as I am cherishing these new found relationships. But now I feel have catching up to do, leaving me feeling slightly overwhelmed. I just want to gather myself in my frumpies, with a cozy blankie, a cup of tea and some good music and just be… just for awhile… but life goes on and stuff needs to get done… I have to go to work, and get kids to school, and pay bills… etc… no matter how I feel… There will be no self pity, no wallowing in the mire! Life is too short for this and I need to carry on!!!

This is real life not the Neverending Story, not the Swamps of Sadness…

Atreyu and Artax had searched… To find Morla, the ancient one, the wisest being in Fantasia whose home was the Shell Mountain somewhere in the deadly Swamps of Sadness. Everyone knew that whoever let the sadness overtake him would sink into the swamp…      

Atreyu and Artax in the Swamps of Sadness – The Neverending Story

“Artax you’re sinking! Come on turn around, you have to! Now ! Come on! Artax ! Fight against the sadness Artax. Artax, please. You’re letting the sadness of the swamps get to you. You have to try, you have to care. For me, I’m your friend, I love you.”                    

                     The Neverending Story

The problem I have is figuring out not only why? (What caused this to hit so hard, so fast?)But how? How do I shake it? I normally have a military drill sergeant in my head yelling at me to “get back up on your feet soldier, tighten up your boot straps and march!”

But for some reason I cannot hear the drill sergeant right now…

So I will rest in this place that I have found myself in, knowing that it is just another passing moment in my life. That there is something to be learned here, something about surrender, and letting go and letting God. It is a place of seeking, and perhaps forgiveness, of finding dreams and taking action. When all is well in our lives we tend to grow stagnant, and take things for granted. Sometimes we need to experience these low places so that we have a proper perception of how things are, and we are then better able to appreciate the high and lofty places… and who knows maybe my luck dragon is around the next corner 😉

Author: myspokenheart

Blogger, life lover, silly-hearted daydreamer...

10 thoughts on “Blue Monday…

  1. It is the year of the dragon (intense power and changes as well as good fortune!). I can see you are an eager, sweet individual wanting to learn from your experiences and so am I! This is the best thing you can do as it is your life, your time and your own beautiful evolution. Be the change you want to see in this life and you are the master of that. Good luck and thanks for your likes on my blog. I wrote a funny blog about monday blues 🙂 http://cliviavogel.wordpress.com/2012/08/08/how-to-beat-the-monday-blues/

    Like

  2. From The Holy Bible (King James Version)
    Attributed to King Solomon

    To everything there is a season, and
    a time to every purpose under heaven:

    A time to be born, and
    a time to die;
    a time to plant, and
    a time to pluck up
    that which is planted;

    A time to kill, and
    a time to heal;
    a time to break down, and
    a time to build up;

    A time to weep, and
    a time to laugh;
    a time to mourn, and
    a time to dance;

    A time to cast away stones, and
    a time to gather stones together;
    a time to embrace, and
    a time to refrain from embracing;

    A time to get, and
    a time to lose;
    a time to keep, and
    a time to cast away;

    A time to rend, and
    a time to sew;
    a time to keep silence, and
    a time to speak;

    A time to love, and
    a time to hate;
    a time of war; and
    a time of peace.

    Like

  3. Excellent post girl!
    There are soooo many sections I want to comment on….but what struck me the most was knowing these times also serve a purpose….changes dont always come smoothly, sometimes you have to know what you DON’T want…to know what you do want in life. You are in the thick of becoming more and more YOU…and letting go of the old…HOW EXCITING!!! this is just a season, and soon you will be not only out of your blue funk…but you will be over joyed with your new surroundings!!! love ya ~ ❤

    Like

    • love you to Hunny… sometimes just venting and getting it out helps to lighten the load, I was surprised at how much better I felt after posting this one… like just stating where I was at, helped lift some of it off my shoulders…

      thanx for the words of encouragement… I love that “sometimes you have to know what you DON’T want…to know what you do want in life” that seems to be the place I found myself in… except the light bulb above my head hasn’t clicked on just yet…

      Like

  4. *sends you a hug*

    It does seem like the blueness can suddenly be there … where did it come from? When did it sneak up on me?

    But … while I understand it … perhaps we help you get out of it. You have become a grand friend … and we will pull out of this together! And oh … Amber always has great words too … we must listen to her nod nods.

    So one thing too though … catching up. New found friends. You mean on here? If so … no overwhelming required. *takes a handful of overwhelm and tosses it over the side railing* Sometimes we get busy …tis okay. We will be here. If you can’t get to things …that is okay too *smiles*

    If you are talking with things in your life that needs catching up … then yes, some things need to get done. Like you said, school, work, bills. But like Amber said…oh oh …mix them up. Or …maybe have more fun…*S* …kiss them extra when they leave …. leave a goofy note on someone’s desk at work and don’t sign it…watch their confused look lol …when paying bills….draw a picture of a potato or carrot …and wonder what the person opening it will likely think. (Ok …my ideas are kinda lame … but…errr….real life examples arn’t the best to give sometimes!)

    And….I LOVE that term…”lucky dragon”. I am soooo going to use that now *S*

    Like

  5. School is expensive, and the time is too, in a round about way. hmmm, they could be selling lemon aid and paper routes? *grins* big routes though.

    ok, tis time to look at cheerful things. funks grow when fed, so do some things you like, Perhaps plan a little event with the young ones this weekend. Something to look forward to, where all the little smiles will grow and become infectious. Something very different perhaps, It doesn’t have to be far, expensive or complicated. A day trip to see something fun, camping overnight in the living room, running together through a forest path, looking at the leaves and screaming as loud as you all can.. and giggling after. (warn the nice old lady on the park bench first)

    Like

  6. Funky days happen. This time of year they be triggered more as well, summers ending.. The closing of another year approaching… the wheel fell off your wagon. 🙂

    And we don’t pop out of them in an instant. Sometimes we need a tug too. A tiny change will often help. Something that you look forward to, a new hobby or something as simple as a tv show. Or a bigger project that you immerse yourself in.

    go to school and send the kids to work… you will have a ball. 🙂

    It would be fun to think about though.

    Like

    • I would love to go back to school… sadly I can’t afford it right now (maybe down the road)… and the kids well they are too young to support me just yet!

      So instead I am gonna sit on the corner and wait for my luck dragon 🙂 … (ok maybe not, but that’s what I feel like doing)

      Like

Talk to me...

